Donnez / Donate

Electromagnetic Hypersensitivity (EHS)

Introduction to Electromagnetic Hypersensitivity (EMS)

By Rohini Peris

ASEQ-EHAQ is contacted regularly by people who suffer from electromagnetic hypersensitivity (EHS). Similar symptoms are reported by people of all ages from Quebec, and from across Canada, on exposure to electromagnetic fields (EMF).

The stories reported to us have common themes. For instance, it is a common occurrence that sufferers are sent for psychiatric evaluation and counseling because most doctors do not understand the condition. This course of action does not resolve the condition and often leads to a lack of self-esteem and a feeling of helplessness and hopelessness for the afflicted persons. Medications are sometimes prescribed, which may somewhat dull the symptoms, but the physical problems persist on exposure to electromagnetic fields.

Often, due to a lack of proper diagnosis, support and care, family and friends doubt the sufferer and are unwilling to provide required accommodation. In addition, unless accommodation is provided in the workplace, the sufferer finds it increasingly hard to function and work, and this often leads to increased sick days, non-productivity and discord with the employer; the end result of which is unemployment. With no earnings and limited income, life becomes increasingly hard. The sufferer is unable to afford specialized equipment or changes within its living accommodations in order to avoid exposures and maintain good health.

Life takes on a downward spiral as the sufferer becomes ostracized from society – unable to work, visit places and carry out the activities that they loved doing, or maintain meaningful relationships with family and friends.

As early as 2006, Dr. Olle Johansson, Associate Professor, Karolinska Institute, Department of Neuroscience, Experimental Dermatology Unit, Stockhold, Sweden, stated that : “In Sweden, electromagnetic hypersensitivity (EMS now EHS) is an officially fully recognized functional impairment (i.e., it is not regarded as a disease).” According to Dr. Johansson, out of a population, at the time, of nine million, between 230,000 and 290,000 Swedes reported a variety of symptoms when ‘in contact’ with electromagnetic field (EMF) sources.

“In Sweden, impairments are viewed from the point of the environment. No human being is in itself impaired, there are instead shortcomings in the environment that cause the impairment (as the lack of ramps for the person in a wheelchair, or rooms not electro sanitized for the person with electromagnetic hypersensitivity). This environment-related impairment view, furthermore, means that (…) the person with electromagnetic hypersensitivity shall always be met in a respectful way and with all necessary support with the goal to eliminate the impairment. This implies that the person with electromagnetic hypersensitivity shall have the opportunity to live and work in an electro sanitized environment.”

From this medical standpoint, it is to be expected that Swedish citizens suffering in this manner are accommodated, supported and respected.

What are Electromagnetic Fields?

Electromagnetic fields (EMF), a combination of electrical and magnetic fields, are not visible. Electrical fields are the result of a difference in electrical potential (this can result in electrical shocks), while magnetic fields are associated with moving charges (i.e. an electrical current). They are envisioned as lines of force associated with electrical installations/equipment and wireless technology.

Several sources can cause exposure to EMF, including working or living close to cellphone antennas or high-tension electrical transmission towers/lines, being in contact with or near wireless transmitting devices (WTD) – such as cellphones and Wi-Fi, electrical panels or wiring (sometimes faulty), most electrical heating floors, using computers or electrical appliances (including electric blankets), and many other electric tools and gadgets. However, scientific evidence has been accumulating over the past decades and is now emerging, that these EMF are detrimental to human health, in many ways… (e.g.: EEA, 2007; Miller et al., 2019).

Our website carries information from various sources on electromagnetic hypersensitivity (EHS). We have included, first and foremost, solutions for affected individuals, but also references and resources – links, articles, books and videos. Often, people who suffer from this condition cannot sit in front of a computer without getting ill and sometimes disabled. If you know of someone with this condition, please refer them to our website or print out information that they can read, and/or have them contact us for help.

References

European Environment Agency (EEA), 2007. Radiation risk from everyday devices assessed (“Bioinitiative: A Rationale for a Biologically-Based Public Exposure Standard for Electromagnetic Fields”). Online:
http://www.eea.europa.eu/highlights/radiation-risk-from-everyday-devices-assessed
Miller et al., 2019. “Risks to Health and Well-Being From Radio-Frequency Radiation Emitted by Cell Phones and Other Wireless Devices”. Frontiers in Public Health, 7(223): https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpubh.2019.00223/full

To learn more…

Donnez / Donate

Électrohypersensibilité (EHS)

Introduction à l’électrohypersensibilité (EHS)

par Rohini Peris

L’Association pour la santé environnementale du Québec (ASEQ-EHAQ) est régulièrement sollicitée par des personnes souffrant d’électrohypersensibilité (EHS). Des symptômes similaires sont rapportés par des personnes de tous âges dans la province de Québec et à travers le Canada, en regard à leurs expositions à des champs électromagnétiques (CEM).

Les témoignages qui nous sont rapportés ont tous des points en communs. Par exemple, il est fréquent que les personnes souffrantes soient envoyées pour évaluation et thérapie psychiatrique, car la plupart des médecins ne comprennent pas la condition qui les affecte. Cette approche médicale ne résout donc aucunement la condition, et mène souvent les personnes affectées à un sentiment de manque d’estime de soi, de marginalisation et de désespoir. Des médicaments sont parfois prescrits et peuvent engourdir un peu les symptômes, mais les problèmes physiques persistent lors d’expositions aux CEM.

Souvent en raison d’un mauvais diagnostique, ainsi que d’un manque de soutien et de soins, les amis et la famille doutent de la personne souffrante et sont peu enclins ou même s’opposent à considérer toute accommodation demandée en ce sens. De plus, à moins que des accommodations ne soient apportées dans le milieu de travail, la personne affectée fonctionne de plus en plus difficilement, affectant son rendement et causant des congés de maladie pouvant mener à la perte d’emploi. Se retrouvant alors sans salaire et avec peu de revenus, la condition devient encore plus difficile. La personne n’a pas les moyens d’accéder aux produits, services ou moyens nécessaires à l’évitement des expositions et par le fait même, au maintien de sa santé et de sa qualité de vie.

La condition de vie de ces personnes peut alors se dégrader très rapidement et elles deviennent exclues de la société, incapables de travailler, de visiter des endroits et de pratiquer les activités qu’elles affectionnent. Les relations avec les proches deviennent souvent très difficiles.

Dès 2006, le Dr. Olle Johansson, Professeur associé à l’Institut Karolinska, Département de neurosciences, Unité dermatologique expérimentale, Stockhold, Suède, déclarait : « En Suède, l’électrohypersensibilité est entièrement et officiellement reconnue comme une limitation fonctionnelle (et non pas considérée comme une maladie) ». Selon le Dr. Johansson, il y avait à l’époque, sur une population de 9 millions, entre 230,000 et 290,000 Suédois rapportant un éventail de symptômes lorsque mis en contact avec des sources de CEM.

« En Suède, les problèmes de santé sont considérés du point de vue de l’environnement. En effet, aucun être humain n’est en soit dysfonctionnel; il existe plutôt des lacunes dans l’environnement qui causent une dysfonction (tels que l’absence de rampes d’accès pour les personnes en chaise roulante, ou encore des lieux non traités contre les CEM pour les personnes vivant avec l’électrohypersensibilité). Cette approche du constat des conditions de santé du point de vue de l’environnement signifie que (…) toute personne souffrant d’électrohypersensibilité devrait toujours être respectée et soutenue dans sa quête de mieux-être, afin d’éliminer la ‘dysfonction’… Ceci implique que la personne atteinte d’électrohypersensibilité devrait avoir accès à des milieux de vie et de travail assainis au plan électromagnétique ».

De ce point de vue médicale, il semble s’avérer que les citoyens Suédois souffrant de cette condition bénéficient d’accommodements, de support, et qu’ils sont respectés.

Que sont les champs électromagnétiques?

Les champs électromagnétiques (CEM) sont une combinaison de champs électriques et magnétiques invisibles. Les champs électriques résultent d’une différence entre des potentiels électriques (pouvant provoquer des chocs électriques), alors que les champs magnétiques sont associés à des charges mouvantes (ex: courant électrique). On conçoit ces champs électromagnétiques comme des lignes de force associées à des installations/appareils électriques ainsi qu’à des technologies sans-fil.

Plusieurs sources peuvent causer des expositions à des CEM, incluant travailler et vivre à proximité d’antennes de téléphonie cellulaire ou de tours/lignes électriques de haute tension, être en contact avec ou à proximité de dispositifs de transmission sans fil – tels que des téléphones cellulaires ou Wi-Fi, des panneaux et du câblage électrique (parfois défectueux), la plupart des planchers électriques chauffants, utiliser des ordinateurs ou des électroménagers et appareils électriques (incluant des couvertures chauffantes), et plusieurs autres outils et gadgets électriques. Toutefois, des évidences scientifiques se sont accumulées au fil des décennies et émergent maintenant, démontrant que ces CEM sont néfastes pour la santé humaine, de bien des façons… (ex. : EEA, 2007; Miller et al., 2019).

Notre site internet offre de l’information provenant de sources différentes au sujet de l’électrohypersensibilité (EHS). Nous y avons inclus, en tout premier lieu, des solutions pour les personnes qui en sont affectées, mais aussi des références et des ressources – des liens, des livres, des articles et des vidéos. Souvent, les individus souffrant de cette condition ne peuvent s’assoir devant un ordinateur sans devenir malades, voire handicapés. Si vous connaissez des personnes souffrant de cette condition, SVP référez-les à notre site Web ou imprimez l’information qu’elles pourront lire, ou encore dites-leurs de nous contacter pour obtenir de l’aide.

Traduction originale par M. Stéphane Bélainsky

Réferences:

European Environment Agency (EEA), 2007. Radiation risk from everyday devices assessed (“Bioinitiative: A Rationale for a Biologically-Based Public Exposure Standard for Electromagnetic Fields”). En ligne:

http://www.eea.europa.eu/highlights/radiation-risk-from-everyday-devices-assessed

Miller et al., 2019. “Risks to Health and Well-Being From Radio-Frequency Radiation Emitted by Cell Phones and Other Wireless Devices”. Frontiers in Public Health, 7(223):

https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpubh.2019.00223/full

Pour en savoir plus…

Introduction à l’EHS
Comment vivre avec l’EHS
Définition des champs électromagnétiques par l’OMS
Comission Canadienne des Droits de la Personne
Reconnaissance
Études