Donnez / Donate

Paul Héroux

Paul Héroux, Ph.D.

Dr. Paul Héroux is a scientist with experience in electrical engineering (15 years), and in the health sciences (27 years). He started his research career at Institut de Recherche d’Hydro-Québec in Varennes, Québec, an internationally reputed electro-technical research laboratory. After rounding out his formation with courses in Biology and Medicine, he became interested in health problems connected with electromagnetism.

He was appointed Associate Professor at McGill University’s Faculty of Medicine in the Occupational Health program, of which he is the current director. He was also appointed Medical Scientist in the Department of Surgery of the Royal Victoria Hospital (currently McGill University Health Center), following his work on the pathophysiology of electrical burns.

His major research contributions include the design and construction of a dosimeter to assess exposure of humans to electromagnetic radiation, a definitive study on the pathophysiology of electrical burns, the development of a diagnostic method (Electrical Impedance Spectroscopy) based on the electrical properties of living tissues, and a computerized system based on machine vision for the assessment of the effects of combinations of medical and environmental agents on cultured human cells.

In the specific area of bioelectromagnetics, he documented Karyotype Contraction, the loss of chromosomes by hyperploid cancer cells under metabolic suppression. The same phenomenon of Karyotype Contraction was exhibited by human cancer cells exposed to extra-low-frequency magnetic fields.

This work led to the conclusion that electromagnetic fields act on mitochondria to suppress metabolism by inhibiting the transport of protons and electrons in inter-molecular tunneling, in particular through aqueous pores, and specifically through the input channel of the mitochondrial enzyme ATP Synthase. He has also designed an exposure system to assess the biological impacts of various telecommunications protocols (GSM, TDMA, etc.) on living cells at microwave frequencies.

Dr. Paul Héroux currently teaches Toxicology, Hearing Conservation, and Health Effects of Electromagnetic Radiation to Occupational Health and Engineering students at McGill’s Faculty of Medicine.

Donnez / Donate

Paul Héroux

Paul Héroux, Ph.D.

Le Dr. Paul Héroux est un scientifique qui a œuvré en génie électrique (15 ans) et dans les sciences de la santé (27 ans). Il a débuté sa carrière de chercheur à l’Institut de Recherche d’Hydro-Québec à Varennes, Québec, une institution de réputation internationale. Après avoir complété sa formation par des cours en Biologie et Médecine, il s’est intéressé aux problèmes de santé reliés aux champs électromagnétiques.

Puis, il est devenu professeur associé à la Faculté de Médecine de McGill dans le programme de Santé au Travail, dont il est actuellement le directeur. Il a été également nommé Scientifique Médical au département de chirurgie de l’Hôpital Royal Victoria (actuellement le Centre de Santé Universitaire de McGill) à la suite de son projet sur la pathophysiologie des brûlures électriques.

Ses contributions majeures de recherche incluent le design et construction d’un dosimètre pour documenter l’exposition aux radiations électromagnétiques, une étude majeure sur la pathophysiologie des brûlures électriques, le développement d’une méthode diagnostique (Electrical Impedance Spectroscopy) basée sur les propriétés électriques des tissus biologiques, et un système de vision par ordinateur pour l’évaluation des effets de combinaisons de produits thérapeutiques et de l’environnement sur les cellules humaines en culture.

Dans le domaine spécifique de la bioélectromagnétique, il documenté la contraction de karyotype, la perte de chromosomes des cellules cancéreuses hyperploïdes sous restriction métabolique. La même contraction de karyotype est détectée chez les cellules humaines cancéreuses exposées aux champs électromagnétiques de basse fréquence.

Ce travail a mené à la conclusion que ces champs agissent sur les mitochondries en inhibant le transfert de protons et d’électrons par tunneling intermoléculaire, en particulier à travers des pores aqueux, et spécifiquement dans le canal d’entrée de l’enzyme ATP synthase. Il a également développé une système d’exposition pour évaluer les impacts biologiques de divers protocoles de télécommunications (GSM, TDMA, etc.) sur les cellules vivantes à diverses fréquences micro-ondes.

Le DR. Paul Héroux enseigne actuellement la toxicologie, la protection auditive et les effets sur la santé de l’électromagnétisme aux étudiants en Santé professionnelle et de génie à la faculté de médecine de McGill.